About

Boguchansky aluminium smelter

The Boguchany aluminium smelter is one of the most modern and largest metals production facilities in Russia. The smelter is located smack in the middle of Russia, in the Krasnoyarsk territory (Boguchansk district), and occupies an area of 2.3 square kilometres (231 hectares)

The smelter is part of the Boguchany Energy and Metals Complex (BEMO), a unique project jointly implemented by UC RUSAL and RusHydro. In addition to the Boguchany aluminium smelter, BEMO also includes the Boguchany hydroelectric power plant (Boguchany HPP): together these two industrial facilities comprise a major industrial complex in which an energy-intensive aluminium production process is supplied with cheap electricity by an in-house hydroelectric power plant, while the HPP has a guaranteed major consumer. For details about the BEMO project follow this link.

The production equipment that will be installed at the Boguchany aluminium smelter meets the strictest international environmental requirements for aluminium production equipment and is certified for conformance to the ISO 14001 international environmental management standard. The design for the Boguchany aluminium smelter was developed taking into account UC RUSAL’s health, safety and environment policy that promotes an integrated approach to reducing emissions, which means that environmental issues are identified and tackled at every stage of the aluminium production process. 

In terms of design capacity, the Boguchany aluminium smelter is the third largest aluminium smelter in Russia after the Krasnoyarsk and Bratsk smelters: BEMO smelter can produce up to 600 thou. tonnes of aluminium per year. Its production area is made up of two potlines, each with an annual capacity of 296 thou. tonnes.

The Boguchany aluminium smelter will use the prebaked anode reduction process, the most popular aluminium production process in the world, at the moment. Once construction is complete, 672 RA-300B pots will be installed in the production shops of the smelter, each pot capable of producing 2.4 tonnes of aluminium every day.

Once it achieves full capacity, operation at the smelter will employ almost 3,500 people, more than half of whom will be directly involved in the production of aluminium.

A new railway station named Pikhtovaya is being constructed on the Karabula-Reshety railway line for use by the new smelter. Once completed the new railway junction will connect the access railway tracks of the smelter to the region’s railway system. Initially Pikhtovaya station will have a throughput of 1 million tonnes of cargo per year, later on it will be increased to 2.1-2.2 million tonnes per year (260 railcars per day).

The new smelter will offer its aluminium products primarily in Asia, a region currently responsible for about 50% of global demand for aluminium.

Main production facilities at the Boguchany aluminium smelter

  • 4 potrooms
  • 4 gas treatment plants
  • A casthouse
  • An anode baking area
  • An alumina storage area
  • A storage area for fluorides and start-up bath

Electric power facilities

  • 220 kV indoor switchgear
  • Silicon converter substations
  • Main step-down substation
  • A distribution system
  • A 220 kV power transmission line from the Angara substation
  • A compressor plant
  • Electric boilers

Auxiliary and service facilities

  • A repairs shop
  • Storage facilities
  • Central office block
  • Garage
  • Fire fighting depot
  • Solid waste disposal area

Water supply and sewage removal systems

  • A bore drain
  • Treatment facilities
  • Accumulation ponds
  • Water recycling units 1 and 2

A total of USD 2.6 billion has been invested in the construction of the Boguchany aluminium smelter (construction that has to be completed to achieve annual production capacity of 588 thou. tonnes, excluding the construction of the carbon plant). USD 1.6 billion has been invested in the first stage of the smelter with an annual capacity of 296 thou. tonnes.

The project is being financed both by UC RUSAL and RusHydro’s own funds and as part of project financing made available by Vneshekonombank (VEB), whose supervisory board approved opening a credit line for the project in July 2010.

Numbers and factsNumbers and facts
2,300,000 tonnes of cargo

Additional cargo operations by railways per year after BEMO smelter reaches its full power

2017

О заводе

Богучанский алюминиевый завод

Богучанский алюминиевый завод - одно из самых современных и крупнейших металлургических предприятий в России. Строительство завода идет в самом центре страны - в Красноярском крае (Богучанский район) на территории более 2,3 кв. км (231 га). Первая очередь производства на Богучанском алюминиевом заводе запущена в эксплуатацию в 2016 году.

Завод является частью Богучанского энерго-металлургического объединения (БЭМО) - уникального совместного проекта компаний РУСАЛ и «РусГидро». В БЭМО, помимо Богучанского алюминиевого завода, также входит Богучанская гидроэлектростанция (БоГЭС) - вместе они образуют мощнейший производственный комплекс, в рамках которого высокоэнергоемкое производство алюминия на заводе будет обеспечено собственной электроэнергией, а ГЭС получит гарантированного крупнейшего потребителя. Подробнее о проекте БЭМО

Производство на Богучанском алюминиевом заводе отвечает самым современным международным экологическим требованиям в области производства алюминия и сертифицировано на соответствие международному стандарту системы экологического менеджмента ISO 14001. Проект строительства Богучанского алюминиевого завода был разработан с учетом политики компании РУСАЛ в области охраны окружающей среды, здоровья и безопасности человека, которая основана на комплексном подходе к проблеме сокращения выбросов, охватывающем всю технологическую цепочку производства алюминия. 

По проектной мощности производства Богучанский алюминиевый завод занимает третье место в России после Красноярского и Братского алюминиевых заводов - БоАЗ способен выпускать почти 600 тысяч тонн алюминия в год. Его производственный комплекс состоит из двух серий производительностью 296 тыс. тонн каждая. 

Производство алюминия на Богучанском алюминиевом заводе основано на самой распространенной в мире технологии электролиза с использованием предварительно обожженных анодов. В производственных цехах завода после завершения строительства будет установлено 672 электролизера марки РА-300Б, производительностью 2,4 т алюминия в сутки каждый. 

На предприятии после выхода на полную мощность будет работать почти 3500 человек, более половины из которых будет занято на основном производстве завода.  


Для транспортного обслуживания Богучанского алюминиевого завода на железнодорожной ветке Карабула-Решеты строится станция «Пихтовая», которая уже соединила ж/д-пути общего пользования с путями БоАЗа. На первом этапе пропускная способность станции «Пихтовая» составит 1 миллион тонн груза в год, затем будет увеличена до 2,1-2,2 миллиона тонн в год (260 вагонов в сутки).   

Основными рынками сбыта завода являются Азия, Северная Америка и Европа.  

Объекты основного производства на Богучанском алюминиевом заводе
  • 4 корпуса электролиза
  • 4 газоочистные установки
  • Литейный цех
  • Производство обожженных анодов
  • Склад глинозёма
  • Склад фторсолей и пускового сырья
Объекты энергетического хозяйства
  • Закрытое распределительное устройство 220 кВ
  • Кремневые преобразовательные подстанции
  • Главная понизительная подстанция
  • Система распределения 
  • ВЛ 220 кВ от ПС «Ангара»
  • Компрессорная станция
  • Электрокотельные
Объекты подсобного и обслуживающего назначения
  • Ремонтное производство
  • Складское хозяйство 
  • Центральный АБК
  • Гараж
  • Пожарное депо
  • Полигон твердых бытовых отходов
Объекты водоснабжения и канализации
  • Скважинный водозабор
  • Очистные сооружения 
  • Пруды-аккумуляторы 
  • Узлы водооборота № 1 и № 2

Общий объем инвестиций в строительство Богучанского алюминиевого завода (достройка до полной мощности 588 тыс. тонн в год, без учета строительства анодной фабрики) составляет $2,6 млрд. Объем финансирования строительства 1-ой серии мощностью 296 тыс. тонн в год составляет $1,6 млрд.

Проект финансируется как за счет собственных средств РУСАЛа и «РусГидро», так и в рамках проектного финансирования «Внешэкономбанка» (ВЭБ), Наблюдательный совет которого в июле 2010 года одобрил предоставление проекту кредитной линии. 

Цифры и фактыЦифры и факты
2 300 000 тонн продукции
Дополнительный объем железнодорожных перевозок после выхода БоАЗа на полную мощность
© 2017 РУСАЛ